This was the final leg of my road trip. I continued to stop at places that were of historical and mythological significance (and anything else that may have popped up on my radar. I was in no rush. I did not force myself to see “everything.” I mostly focused on the main “site”, if there was one, and usually a trip to the archaeological museum (again, if there was one.) There was no particular rhyme or reason to the order of my travel (I just drew straight lines across the road map. If I liked a place I lingered there. If I was tired, I rushed through and left. I’ve said before, I hope you are not reading this as a travel guide. I’m not trying to tell you where to go, how to go, or what to see.
Argos and Mykines (Mycenae)
Argos is one of the oldest continually inhabited cities in the world. There is not much to see in the modern portion, but there is another large central square area with cafes and such. Families gather in the evening. Another place with a real community feel to it. According to mythology, Perseus was born here. Because of its proximity to Sparta, they were consistent rivals for power. Argos stayed neutral during the Persian wars and officially neutral during the war between Sparta and Athens (although, they tended to favor Athens). A somewhat interesting site is called the Greek pyramid. The base is all that remains, although it was probably more of a defense tower, its similarity to Egyptian pyramids is hard to ignore. Also, in Delphi, there are two statues that were gifts to the Oracle from Argos, depicting two Argive heroes in Egyptian-looking dress. According to mythology, the ancient rulers of the city were related to and intermarried with the Egyptian pharaohs so the similarities make some sense. The remains of the city, Tiryns, is also nearby and some interesting structures are still standing.
Ancient Mycenae is also close to this area. When you think of Greek mythology and the origins of Greek civilization, you are thinking of Mycenae. They were the forerunners of who we call ancient Greeks. Agamemnon, who led the united Greek forces against Troy was the ruler of this city. His wife’s tomb is still here. The famous Lion Gate is also still standing. The site is very intact and could give Delphi a run for its money, if you are looking to be transported back in time to when the city prospered.
Arcadia
This is a region, not a city. I passed through here to see nothing particular, but it has the most personal touch of any place I have gone. My last name, “Payne” comes from some old version of English which means “pagan, rustic woodsman, descendant of Payen.” “Payen” is an Anglo-sized version of Pan the Greek god of the wild, shepherds, etc. Worship of Pan started in this region. According to myth, Pan and his father, Hermes were born on Mt. Kyllini which is in this region. So, I set google to a spot near the mountain and set out in that direction. I found a wide-open place with a great view, took some pictures, then stopped at a café for some coffee. Time well spent in my book. There is no Greek in my family, but the ancestors of whatever group of people eventually migrated to some part of England and took the name “Payne” must have come from somewhere around here. Or maybe it’s all just some fantastic coincidence.

Olympia
This was the most touristy stop on the Peloponnese portion of the trip. It was the most crowded with foreigners that I had seen since Delphi, which is understandable. It is the birthplace of the Olympics, after all. You can go to the original site pretty easily. Remains of the original Olympic stadium are still standing. The spot where they still light the modern Olympic torch is here. Also, the remains of Zeus’ temple is somewhat intact. At one point, there was a huge silver and gold statue of Zeus that was one of the Seven Wonders. That makes two Wonders that I saw on this trip (or where they used to be) and four total for me. Two others were located in Turkey and one was in Iraq (may not make it to that one…..) The archaeological museum houses most of the remaining statues and is quite interesting in piecing the story together. There is another museum dedicated to the sports that were played in the ancient site.
This is Sparta!
I very much wanted to somehow magically transport one of the very few people in this world that I do not like to this place and kick them into a giant pit while I was here. No such luck on the magic front or the pit. I did not see anything resembling I giant well or pit into which Persian messengers could be violently tossed. Ah well, life is not perfect and neither are movies. Considering how important Sparta was in ancient times, there is very little of the ancient stuff emphasized. The archaeological museum consists of only two small rooms. There is not much left of the ancient city. In fairness, they are still working on it. Not complaining, still good to be here. Around the modern city, there is a statue of Leonidas and a couple of other Spartan soldier type statues. There is a central square like most towns, mostly with families that come out at night, like Thiva and Argos. Surprisingly non-touristy. Not far outside of town there is Menelaion. These remains are at the top of a very high hill and was once either the home of or dedicated to Menelaus and Helen. This area provides a great view of the surrounding area and was the perfect final official stop of my road trip. I took in my surroundings, reflected on my journey, and thanked God for allowing me to make it.
Got Shisha?
No. Non. لا. Όχι.
Conclusion
What else can I say? I saw places that I dreamed of seeing. None of them disappointed. It was as close to a perfect trip as I could have asked for.

Leave a comment